Friday, January 20, 2012

The Hunger Games Series

I finished reading all the Hunger Games Series! Written by: Suzanne Collins. Wow, they were so good! I read the first one, The Hunger Games two years ago when my cousin told me about them. At that point, the third one wasn't even released yet. She told me about the book and I was a little puzzled as to whether I should read it or not because it sounded really strange. Later I did decide to read it and it was action-packed! I picked up the second and third one because the movie was coming out and there is so much hype about the series. I read Catching Fire in two days, but the third one, Mockingjay took me a week (I have to say the least favorite of the three). I decided that I will be going to the movie premiere at midnight on March 23rd. 

Want to know more about each book? Here's some more info below:

The Hunger Games
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning? In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before-and survival.

Catching Fire 
Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty. But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror, are the faces of that rebellion. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge.

Mockingjay, the conclusion to The Hunger Games trilogy, will have fans racing through the book to reach its edgy, highly probable yet oh so unexpected, and utterly jaw-dropping conclusions. In the final, spell-binding novel, author Suzanne Collins doesn’t spare blood or gore—or creativity as she paints graphic images in the path of two-time Hunger Games survivor, Katniss Everdeen. Katniss has emerged from the 75th Annual (Quarter Quell) Hunger Games as the sole symbol of the Districts’ rebellion against the Capitol: the Mockingjay.
Flung into the underground, socialist District 13, Katniss is relieved, appalled, and bitter about the District’s existence. With Gale Hawthorne by her side and Peeta Mellark at the hands of the Capitol, Katniss is forced to weigh the motives and actions of those around her as she navigates her role as Mockingjay. District 13’s President Coin reunites Katniss with former Tributes and an assortment of Rebel leaders scraped together from the surviving Districts with carefully laid plans on how to gain the remaining Districts’ support and infiltrate the Capitol.

No comments:

Post a Comment