Monday, July 16, 2012

Praying the Rosary

One thing that I wanted to accomplish this summer was memorize the Rosary. I've prayed the Rosary numerous times, but I've always had someone else lead or a need a paper to follow (mainly for the names of the mysteries). So to help me out with that I thought I would blog about it! 

Earlier I had this post about the Rosary as well, that gives a better idea of the Rosary overall. 

There are twenty mysteries which are divided into four: 
1. Joyful Mysteries:
  • The Annunciation
  • The Visitation
  • The Nativity
  • The Presentation
  •  The Finding of Jesus in the Temple
2. Luminous Mysteries:
  • The Baptism of the Lord
  • The Wedding of Cana
  • The Proclamation of the Kingdom
  • The Transfiguration
  • The Institution of the Eucharist
3. Sorrowful Mysteries
  • The Agony in the Garden
  • The Scourging at the Pillar
  • The Crowning with Thrones
  • The Carrying of the Cross 
  • The Crucifixion
4. Glorious Mysteries 
  • The Resurrection
  • The Ascension
  • The Decent of the Holy Spirit
  • The Assumption
  • The Coronation
As suggested by the Pope John Paul II the Joyful mysteries are said on Monday and Saturday, the Luminous on Thursday, the Sorrowful on Tuesday and Friday, and the Glorious on Wednesday and Sunday (with this exception: Sundays of Christmas season - The Joyful; Sundays of Lent - Sorrowful)

Steps to praying the Rosary:
  1. Make the Sign of the Cross and say the Apostles' Creed
  2. Say the Our Father
  3. Say three Hail Marys
  4. Say the Glory be to the Father 
  5. Announce the First Mystery; then say the Our Father 
  6. Say ten Hail Marys while meditating on the Mystery.
  7. Say the Glory be to the Father 
  8. Say the Fatima Prayer 
  9. Announce the Second Mystery; then say the Our Father. Repeat 6, 7, 8, and continue with Third, Fourth and Fifth Mysteries in the same manner.
Apostle's CreedI believe in God the Father Almighty, Creator of heaven and earth; and in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord; Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the Virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died and was buried. He descended into hell. On the third day He arose again; He ascended into heaven,and sits at the right hand of God, the Father Almighty; from thence He shall come to judge the living and the dead. I believe in the Holy Ghost, the Holy Catholic Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and life everlasting. Amen
Our FatherOur Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be Thy name: Thy kingdom come: Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread: and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation: but deliver us from evil. Amen.
Hail MaryHail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with thee: blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death. Amen
Glory BeGlory be to the Father, and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit.
As it was in the beginning, is now and ever shall be, world without end. Amen.
Fatima Prayer"O my Jesus, forgive us our sins, save us from the fires of hell, and lead all souls to Heaven, especially those in most need of Your Mercy". 

Information from this website and this website

No comments:

Post a Comment